Colleague Critique

At this point in time, it’s no secret that I have some favorite blogs within my food genre. I’ve now praised Miss New Foodie and The Naughty Fork too many times to count. Other blogs (or sites similar to blogs) I love are BuzzFeed’s Tasty (which has also gotten plenty of mentions from me) and Freshmen15. Also, I can now shout out the blogs who are constantly “liking” my posts who do similar work.

I’ve learned a lot about blogging through this process – analyzing other blogs like mine and blogs different from mine, and just reading a lot of blogs’ posts and writing a lot of my own blog posts in general.

Miss New Foodie, a girl my age who also appreciates the good food in life, taught me that the comedic approach to “food blogging” is a well respected writing style, regardless of how informal it may be. While she effortlessly creates picture-perfect scenarios for her already picture-perfect meals, and chronicles life as a college student with such comedic grace, she also embraces the messiness of food blogging (both literally and figuratively.) You may only have three meals and maybe a couple (several) snacks a day, so eat delicious foods and write about your obsessions with abandon.

The Naughty Fork follows the mantra, “phone eats first” too, and knows that the most beautiful, photographable food is what will bring your posts the most success. Similarly, Freshmen15, originally just an Instagram account, has turned their popular photos into multimedia blog posts. In somewhat similar news, our first Carbdashians post to ever hit 1,000 likes completely even surpassed that original goal. I’d like to thank the Instagram community for appreciating my thumb and the delicious ice cream I devoured shortly after this photo was taken, my friend Sara for posting at the most opportune time, and my mom for always being the first like.

now watch me whip and dip🍴soft serve and cookie dough with a dash of coral gables, fl

A post shared by The Carbdashians (@carbdashians_) on

Anyway, while I do subscribe to the idea that beautiful photography will bring in the readers, I also know that it’s the quality of the writing that will make them stay. Who will care that the photos of the dish you just cooked are beautiful if you can’t explain the recipe well enough for others to make the same? And that’s where BuzzFeed’s Tasty comes in.

I discovered Tasty on Facebook through their popular videos that infiltrate your timeline like ants infiltrate the strawberry you dropped on the ground and forgot about for a while until you finally looked behind your trash can (oops). I’ve mentioned them before in that their videos make you salivate like the food is legitimately in front of you, and make a food processor look like arts and crafts.

However, I’ve also learned a lot from the Tasty blog page. In order to keep people interested in what you’re writing, you have to constantly keep them on their toes. Write something entirely different from your last post in your next post. One day, your headline can be “14 Strangely Satisfying Videos of Melting Cheese” and the next, “17 Cheat Sheets if You’re Vegetarian or Vegan,” which are kind of like these posts, in a way.

All in all, I’m obbbbviously still learning. I’ve got a long way to go. I can’t say a single bad word about the super-successful blogs I just mentioned, because I draw my inspiration from their posts. It really helps to be blogging in such a huge community; within food blogging, there’s recipe blogs, blogs for special diets, Instagrams turned blogs, and the list goes on. I use this community to learn what works, to find new areas of exploration, and to motivate myself to up my game in comparison. And it’s all really cool.

Leave a Reply

