I tried a sushi burrito and here’s what I have to say about it

Two weeks ago, I wrote a post about my disdain for living in a world where we can no longer just accept the natural beauty of a classic sushi roll. At that time, I had some controversial views on the idea of a sushi burrito. I had never eaten one, and I had some apprehensions about it, as chronicled in the post.

Along the same lines of Chipotle-style sushi, sushi burritos have been taking the world by storm. Wrapped in rice seaweed, eating a sushi burrito is pretty much like biting into a never ending piece of sushi. I haven’t tried one because I’m hesitant about the ratio. When you eat sushi, it’s all about the perfect bite. An overload of rice in comparison to the fish and avocado could ruin the whole experience.

I’m really adamant on the fact that sushi is all about the perfect proportions; it’s like following a strict recipe. Too much of one ingredient and the whole creation is ruined. However, I didn’t feel that I was doing the innovators of sushi burritos a favor by pointing out every little thing that could go wrong with their products. So, naturally, I had to actually give it a try.

I chose Apoke, a small restaurant specializing in poke bowls and sushi burritos because it is conveniently located in my apartment building. Is it fair to judge an entire category of sushi experience based on just one shop that opened less than a month ago? Probably not. Was it the cheapest and most convenient option that also earned me points on my rewards card? You bet.

BEFORE

All I want out of this experience is to prove my hypothesis wrong. Maybe there is such a way to create the perfect ratio, wrapped evenly and orderly. I have high hopes, but also simultaneously, low expectations. How this is possible, you may ask, I’m not entirely sure.

Anyways…

THE EXPERIENCE

Like any other day, I walk the 400 steps from my apartment door to Apoke and the employee behind the case asks if I’ve been here before. It was my fifth time in three weeks but I wasn’t going to let them know the extent of my laziness, so I just said a simple “yes,” and that it was my first time getting a burrito.

I essentially got the poke bowl I always get, except this time, wrapped in seaweed. I knew that by doing this, while tainting the experiment by not being entirely adventurous, I would find it more appetizing by being familiar with my food. So, as usual, I got seafood dynamite, tuna, mango, edamame, seaweed salad, scallions, avocado, corn, and spicy mayo. It was a scrumptious mix.

IMG_3132

Then came the actual eating part. My burrito was complete, and it was time for me to take a bite. It looked pretty and I felt confident in my choices. This was the moment I would debunk my personal ideas of the sushi burrito mystery.

IMG_3135

FINAL THOUGHTS

It was good. Would I get it again? Maybe. Was it messier than need be? Definitely. Is it essentially the same thing as a poke bowl? Entirely.

I’d rate it a 9/10. There was way too much rice as I had expected, and I had to use a fork to eat it toward the end of each half because it felt apart after the first few bites. However, I wouldn’t rule it out as a meal I’d consider a second time.

I want to hear how other people have felt after sinking their teeth into one of these. How would you rate your sushi burrito experience? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

